OS Grid ref:- NY 432230
The scattered but pleasant village of Watermillock lies in a stunning location on the north-west shore of Ullswater.
Near the village stands a fine Georgian mansion set in 18 acres of woodland, now owned by the Outward Bound Trust. James Clarke, the author of the "Survey of the Lakes," published in 1787, was born in Watermillock.
Nearby at Rampsbeck stands a marina, offering motor boats and rowing boats for hire. Windsurfing equipment is also available. There is also an attractive picnic area on the shores of Ullswater.
All Saints Church
All Saints Church, (OS grid ref:-NY 432230) which stands on a hillside above Ullswater, dates to 1881 and occupies the site of the former village chapel.
The church lies east of Priest Crag, so named for a seventeenth century bishop who had the wood on the crag cut down as he disliked the noise hunters made, which he indignantly felt disturbed his congregation of worshippers.
The building contains an old Parish chest with three locks, which dates to around 1560. The Coat of Arms of King George III is displayed at the base of the tower and All Saints has a number of attractive stained glass windows. The churchyard is filled with a profusion of wildflowers.