The Quaker Tapestry
The Quaker Tapestry is housed at Kendal's historic Friends Meeting House. The Meeting House is an attractive grade II listed building which was designed in 1816 by the famous Kendal architect George Webster, who was also Mayor of the town from 1829-1830. It is considered to be one of the finest Georgian buildings in the area. The first Quaker Meeting House in Kendal was erected on the site in 1688.The Friend's Meeting House
The tapestry, which makes an interesting day out and is well worth a visit, is a modern exhibition of embroidery, displayed in vivid colours, forming a chronicle of Quaker life over 350 years. It consists of 77 hand-crafted embroidery panels, beautifully illustrated by 4,000 men, women and children from 15 countries. There are also demonstrations of embroidery which depict how the tapestries were made, and a display of Quaker costumes.
Facilities include multi-lingual personal audio guides, large screen video, shop, garden and tearoom.
The gift shop sells a variety of interesting gifts , which include photographic reproductions of the panels, books, calendars, household accessories and home fabric designs based on the tapestry. Gifts may also be ordered online from the Quaker Tapestry Website. (see our links page)Outside the Tapestry Tearooms
Images courtesy of Bridget Guest at the Quaker Tapestry
Further information on Quakers in Cumbria
Swarthmoor Hall - Historic Quaker Hall